This 156-foot tall, horizontally-striped lighthouse was built in 1872. It is the third Bodie Island lighthouse: the first was unstable, and the second was destroyed by the confederate soldiers so that the union solders could not use it as an observation post.
A visitors’ center, located in the old keeper's quarters, is open year-round and features exhibits as well as an Eastern National Bookstore. Visitors can also venture on a self-guided nature trail.
Location: 8 miles south of US-158 and US-64 intersection and within the Cape Hatteras National Seashore.
Hours: The lighthouse is not open for climbing, but the visitors’ center is open from Memorial Day to Labor Day, daily 9 am to 6 pm; Labor Day to Thanksgiving, daily 9 am to 5 pm.
Contact Information: (252) 441-5711